Prehistoric Art

Please note:  For whatever reason, WordPress is not allowing me to add links to this post.  (most infuriating)  Therefore, I’m just posting the links in parenthesis after the text — which is not as neat and tidy as I would prefer, but I don’t have time to investigate the cause of this any further.

I am forever amazed at the number of musicians that will claim, “I can’t do art!”  Do they not realize that music is indeed a form of art?

Today was a rough day.  I knew it would be, we had all last week off due to company and certain people want to fight me tooth and nail when we start back.  Then there’s the whole forget-everything-you-were-ever-taught disorder.

I was mentally prepared for this, but still after two hours on a math lesson that should have only taken at most 45 minutes, even I was ready to scream.

Luckily, the rest of the plan for the day involved our art study.

And first we did music!  Which made me feel awesome because I could put my plan (http://corefoundations.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/music-in-the-beginning/) into play and see how it turned out.

So, first we discussed how there was absolutely nothing.  Not only nothing to see, but nothing to hear as well.  Then, I “introduced” them to the conductor of an orchestra idea and how at the beginning of any performance he will raise both arms up high.  This signifies to the orchestra to get ready, but to the audience it tells them to get quiet; both of these objectives are essential to be met.

Please note that during this discussion one of my guys could NOT keep his mouth shut to save his life!  We had to wait a bit for him to get his jabbers out. . .

But he did manage to finally pull it together, so we went ahead and moved on to our first piece of music:  water.  I am so pleased with this piece I can hardly stand it!  (Not that I had anything to do with its creation, mind you, just highly impressed.)

The boys were suitably impressed!  In fact, they had never seen wine glasses “sing” before, so that led to an impromptu “lesson” on playing wine glasses.

All in all, a highly successful music lesson.

Then we moved onto cave painting.  We had just finished the book, Boy of the Painted Cave, (http://www.amazon.com/Boy-Painted-Cave-Justin-Denzel-ebook/dp/B002DGKVQC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1386024426&sr=8-1&keywords=boy+of+the+painted+cave) so it seemed the perfect time to cover this.

First we took a virtual tour of the Lascaux caves (http://www.lascaux.culture.fr/?lng=en#/en/00.xml), which the boys thought was pretty cool.  We discussed the different colors used and the different animals created, as well as how they used the rock texture to actually create some of the shapes.  (Most memorably this was done with a bull.)  One of the pictures had a wounded person, which fascinated one of my kids. . .

The boys were then set free to create their own “cave art” in our small bathroom, with a candle to provide their light.  (I got this idea from another blog which I can no longer seem to find, so please understand this was someone else’s brilliant idea.)

The boys thought that was “da Bomb!”  Giggling galore ensued.  Happy children emerged from the bathroom.  It was probably the best end to the day I could have wished for.

Leave a Reply

