DMV visit

I woke up this a.m. terribly tired and with a huge, mongo cold sore developing on my lower lip.

So, I naturally did what any sane 21st century middle-aged woman would do. I went to the DMV to get my drivers license.

ahhh, C’mon now! Don’t tell me you wouldn’t have done it??!

Honestly, everyone knows you are going to come out of there with a horrendous photo regardless. You could spend the day at a spa and still come out of the DMV with a picture that resembles the undead, or a prison escapee (like my brother did in his). I figure they consider it some sort of weird art form, like Picasso or something.

So, I spent over an hour waiting to get this masterpiece. Technically, I was supposed to have gotten it within 60 days of moving here.

Now, here’s the thing. As a military wife, every freaking time we move (to a new state), I have to get a new license. Doesn’t matter if my old one is still valid for another 3 years. I don’t get the military exemption my husband does. No! I have to pay every solitary state we visit for a new license. I could collect the things, but when you go to the DMV to swap state licenses they confiscate your old one. You comment, “Hey, I just spent $40 on that a year ago and it’s still good for another 3 years, and I’ll be gone before that’s over. . . I want $30 back” But no, the DMV lady never even cracks a smile on that remark, and barks at you to hand over $45 for this state’s license.

Honestly, I’m getting sick of it and rebelled. I went WAY beyond the 60 days, by oh. . .420 days.

So, here I am $45 lighter in the pocket, the whole morning blown away by sitting in waiting chairs, with nothing to add to my nonexsistant collection of driver’s licenses, and a bad photo. And somehow, I feel good because they didn’t catch me breaking a rule!

Oh! and that cold sore never materialized! By the time we got back from the DMV it had vanished. I think it got fed up of waiting also and decided to jump the line and ran straight onto one of those DMV ladies’ faces. Maybe they are due for a license renewal themselves?

Leave a Reply

