The Very Hungry Caterpillar

(It’s the name of a book by Eric Carle.)

As I mentioned we didn’t finish our “B” week, due to the fact that we are watching Nate.

Well, the thing is he doesn’t want to do the “school-work” (math and such), he wants to do the fun work.

 I don’t want to give  him all the fun work that I have scheduled for Garrett and Mikhail to do, because we do still have school work to do, and I’d like have  something to break up the tedium of the work.  (Although, truth be told, at their level there is little that is tedious.)

So, we are in our second week of “B” and I don’t want to share the fun.  Not good.

Well, then I just happened, on Mon, to recieve this link from one of the email loops I belong to.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Lapbook 

It was like an answer to my dilemma.  Butterfly starts with “b”, and then caterpillar is a “c” word.  . .

Anyway, I don’t like lapbooks. 

Nope, I don’t, because as we move a lot, I’m here to tell you, lapbooks don’t “move” well.

That’s why I like the idea of notebook pages.

However, when you find notebook pages they all tend to be rather “blah”.  A picture or graphic slapped on and then a written entry.  Now, the principle behind it is rather “sound” and the learning you recieve from it is excellent, it’s just “blah”.

The nice thing about lapbooks is they tend to be more “interactive”.  (Same learning benefit of the notebook pages, but with more pizzaz.)

So, I would prefer a combo of the two.  Just hadn’t quite figured out how to do it yet.

However, this lady did.  While it’s touted as a lapbook, she gave the option of using it on notebook pages!

Perfect!!!

(And now, after seeing how she did it, I have a better idea of how I want to do it.)

Now, because I’m going to attempt to do this with 3 boys at once, I had to do one myself, just to get an idea of how doable it would be.

It requires A LOT of cutting.  Cutting is a good skill to learn, but this requires a lot.  It really won’t be too bad, as I will be breaking it into parts, but I determined to do some precutting to make it a bit more manageable for the boys.  (I cut out all the stickers.)

It also has a copywork selection.  Given the boys’ age, I think copywork is a bit “discouraging”.  I think I’m just going to give the poem to learn so they can recite it.

I’m giving them 3 days to complete it.  We’ll see if they can get it done in that time.  (I’m also curious to see how it goes with 2-5 year olds and 1-4 year old.)

Oh, and I will say, she has a “collage” sheet in her pkg.  I’m looking forward to that.  I might do that first with the boys.  I have tissue paper, so I think I may see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

