Party

I went to a Stampin’ Up! Party last night.

 Honestly, I just went to get out of the house.  And, I can say that in all honesty as I wasn’t even sure what this was. . .

So, for those of you who are just as clueless it’s a rubber stamping design thingy.  The lady who demonstrated ours was a big scrapbooker too, so I’m not 100% sure where one started and the other began. . .

It was cool.  I mean, if I didn’t have kids, I could really see myself getting into it — just as I could see myself getting into scrapbooking.  But, I don’t have the time nor energy.  Nor, do I want to spend the money or find the space to store all that stuff.

I think I kind of “upset” the demonstrator, as I didn’t partake in any of the projects.  (They made 2 cards.)  I watched them do it, and learned a lot, but I couldn’t figure out what I would do with the cards once they were done, so didn’t see the point.  For the record, all the other ladies that were there making cards, (it was so funny!) they were talking about how they never use the cards that they’ve made, or been given as gifts, because they just can’t stand to part with them as they are “too nice”.  That just reenforced my idea of not making any.

 However, as I said, I watched and learned lots.  The thing I learned right off is I had to have these things called “blender pens“.  Basically a clear liquid marker.  And I need them for school. 

Really, we do lots of art projects that suggest using watercolor pencils, but the boys are never happy with the results when they use a paintbrush (even a fine one), to blend the colors.  (I haven’t had great success either, the problem almost always stemming from too much or too little water, and the inability to get enough force. . .)

I saw them use these markers on watercolor pencils and they worked fantastic!  The demonstrator was saying she’s had hers for over 3 years and they are used ALL the time, and she still doesn’t need to replace them.

Then, in the catalog they had something called an “stylus“.  Now, it just so happens I’ve been looking for such a thing.  Not for embossing, but for quilling.  The boys have a history craft project to do called “quilling” (coiling paper) and it requires such a stylus.  I’ve found them in craft stores, but for over $5 and here it was under $3. . .

So, I walked away with ~ $15 dollars (with tax) worth of stuff (4 items — set of 3 blender pens and stylus); and no cards that I wouldn’t want to give away because they are “too nice”.  😉

Leave a Reply

