Bedside Tales

Jay is fond of stating directly after we move into a new location which side of the bed is his.  Truly, as soon as we get the bed set up, he states which side is his.  The side he “always sleeps on”.

This is a joke.  There is no such thing as “his” side.  It changes, every move. . .

He tried arguing this point with me, so I went through, and drew a diagram of each of our previous bedrooms and put a big fat “X” where his side was.  Relative to the bed, it changes.

However, in doing this exercise I noticed one thing stays the same.  He always picks the side closest to the door.

Chivalrous of him, hmmm?

 Yeah, right! 

Need I remind you that it takes an act of God, nature, or plumbing to wake that man up???  And to be honest, I’m not sure if an act of God would actually wake the man.

Kids get sick in the middle of the night (like recently), or have bad dreams, etc. . . they have to walk around the bed to get to me.  I need to jump for whatever reason. . .around the bed.

I recall Drew requiring root canals at the ripe age of 4 because he had thrown up in bed and had come AROUND the bed to tell me, in the process tripping and hitting our footboard.  (We had just moved in and there were boxes. . . )

See, the boys are “trained”.  Knowing how difficult it is to wake Daddy they always come to me.  If I didn’t know better, I’d think that was his master plan all along.

Last night there was this loud incessant beeping in the middle of the night.  My first thought was smoke detector.  I dashed out of bed trying to track down the area, full of fright when I realized it was coming from the little guys room.

It turned out to be a toy stopwatch of theirs that apparently has a very loud alarm function on it, set for 0100.

All the males slept through the whole episode. . .

Gives you the warm fuzzies, doesn’t it?

And yes, that dash took me AROUND the bed. . . Think I may have kicked the dog in the process, (accidentally mind you), but he sleeps on my side of the bed too (on the floor). 

 All weekend I’ve been dashing AROUND the bed trying to take care of Mikhail, who has been sick. . .  And the delay in my getting AROUND the bed, was probably the reason why I had to mop the floor of my bathroom so many times, keeping me awake in the wee hours. . .

Not that I hold a grudge or anything!  I mean, just cause I feel like “Pop! goes the weasel” (all AROUND the mulburry bush) certainly doesn’t mean I hold a grudge.

It does, however, mean that I will be taking myself AROUND the bed a little earlier tonight, to try to catch up on some sleep.

Leave a Reply

