Sacrilege!

There is no-way, no-how. . .

So, we were watching the IEW SWI-C again yesterday, and Mr. Pudewa pipes up with. . .

Oh!  it just pains me to say it.  I can’t believe he even suggested such a horror!

But still, I will be brave, and put it out there.

He says to:

“Take notes (WRITE) in you books.”

!!!!

Can you imagine???!  I was horror-struck.

As soon as he said that, I started explaining to my kids that he was completely off his rocker. 

Obviously, he’d been standing in front of groups talking so long that the oxygen had left his brain and he wasn’t thinking straight. 

That in no shape or form will they write in any of MY books.

Drew has an American History text that I told him he could mark up as he pleases, as “texts” and “books” are two very different animals in my opinion.

Mr. Pudewa then proceeds to try to back up this blasphemy by throwing out a book written by Mortimor Adler (How to Read a Book).  Apparently, Mr. Adler sides with this heresy.

I honestly don’t care who claims such a thing or their “importance”.

They’re WRONG!

That’s why “notepaper” was invented.  Those smart people in the world realized books were too precious to write in!

Not to mention, would you want to read a book that had notes all down the margins of what someone else deemed “remarkable”; or worse, their thoughts on the matter!

Maybe, if I was a psychologist. . .otherwise it would totally ruin it for me. 

But, it would be slightly interesting, MAYBE, if you were reading a book as an adult that you had read as a teen that you marked all up. 

So you could laugh at yourself.

**************

He also recommends buying the most marked up (highlighted) texts for college courses.  I would seriously admonish that thought. 

First, you’d be ASSUMING the book was used by someone who was both highly intelligent AND that they had the same professor that you will have.

Because, if they were “boneheads”, would you really want to know what they felt was important?

Secondly, colleges are now buying used books from different colleges, and/or many professors are using the same texts.

Let me just state, just as you and I would read the same material and find different items of import, college professors are similar and they determine the questions on the tests.

************

The note-taking segment of the DVD was excellent though. . .I mean the part about taking notes from a lecture.  The part about the note-taking from books was diminished due to the above-mentioned error, but it is still usable.

***********

I realize some of you know of my sarcasm, and may be thinking this is all posted in that tone. 

It isn’t.

Seriously, if you are just one of those people that “has to have” notes in your book, use these:

You would then have the added benefit of creating a “tab” that you could flip to easily. 

This entry was posted in family.

5 comments on “Sacrilege!

  1. Sarah F. says:

    PREACH IT SISTER!!!

  2. Jill says:

    Actually, I started doing what Andrew has recommended and found I am getting MUCH more out of my books. When I scribble on the pages, I can find what I was looking for later, remember what I said, and look at the scribbles my kids added.

    Sticky notes fall out, pad the book and look sloppy.

    Plus, isn’t it great to get a book with someone else’s notes? It is like discussing the book with the person. Its great.

    Write in your books!!

  3. Sunshine says:

    DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT, WRITE IN YOUR BOOKS! Perish the thought! And you’re right, per our conversation earlier, I do find this funny! 😀 Take notes in notebooks, that’s what they’re there for, but IN books?! NEVER!

  4. Kristen says:

    Great post. I can’t write in books either. I remember in 3rd grade Sunday school the class was given Bibles that had black-line drawings. Our teacher wanted us to color them! I was mortified and refused to do it. I do mark in my Bible now (not with crayon though), but writing in books does not appeal to me either.

  5. Laura O says:

    For me it all depends on the book. However, for the most part I do *not* like writing in books. I know that in college I occasionally bought used texts to save $$ and couldn’t stand finding others underlining and scribble in them. Too distracting, especially when people can’t figure out what to highlight and ended up highlighting almost an entire page.

    Now, a personal copy of The Bible is a completely different situation. Same goes for some books that now have room for note-taking. But, perish the thought if my boys were to mark up a text book!

Leave a Reply

