REJOICE with me!!!

Oh, I’m so happy, I can hardly stand it.

However, I shall make us both wait for a bit to talk about the day. . .

Remember I was discussing distractions earlier?  Well, I’m sure that you, like I, have those “quickie” distractions.  The kind you just don’t get to because they are “meaningless”.  But then, they fester and consume a lot of your time in thought as still yet one more thing that needs to be done.

Yeah, the kind that you fret over like 300 times longer than it would ever take you to actually do (so you can mark it off your “to-do list”).

I took care of one of those today.  Took all of 10 minutes. 

I got all my floppy files moved over and copied. . . Geesh!  That’s gotta show my age!  At least it didn’t take hours. . .

************************

Jay has decided to remodel his garage.  Let’s be real, I have absolutely NO claim in that domain (nor do I want it).  It’s his “cave”. 

Given the import Jay puts on his vehicles, most who truly know him are impressed that he has waited this long to get to it.

Now, let me just say that, EVERYONE likes to blame this on me. 

“Oh, what’s the wife got ya doin’ this week?”

And the goober, he tells them!  I mean, he tells them what he’s working on without thought nor care that he is allowing them to infer that they are correct in their assumption that I’m a slave driver.

Well. . . for my kids that may be true, but not for the hubby. 

Where was I?  Oh!  Well, pictures are worth a thousand words, right?  (And this keeps the grandparents happy that they are able to see what the kids are up to.)

This is the front of our garage, this morning.

For clarification, Drew is in the gray jacket and Tyler in the black.

Even the little men were put to work (much to their great joy!)

This is one of the times that I am so grateful I didn’t know the (big!) kids were using power tools!  I would have been inside fretting with my hand on the phone ready to call 911 if necessary. . .

****************

Now, this is a series of pictures, that I just had to add for the faces.  The first one, is very typical of Drew, as he’s always explaining something (which requires large hand movements, apparently).  However, for a good laugh, just take a peek at the faces (Drew was in fine form. . .)

***************************

I have been asking Jay to get the boys involved in helping out with the remodeling since we moved here, but he hates to because “it takes too long” (Yes, you can put the whine in there and not be too far off.)

Well, after a day of working on this, Drew came inside in the best of moods.  He even asked me what I was thinking about and had a whole conversation with me.  Then, he played on the floor with the little guys.

Ahhh!  It was SO nice to see the grumble monster (his all too frequent attitude) banished, even if for only a day.

************************

I spent the day cross-stitching.  However, I made the mistake of telling Jay about my distractions this a.m. 

Is it in Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus that they discuss how women will just talk about a topic to sort of think it out-loud and men are fond of. . .ummm, “providing direction”, even though all the woman wanted was an ear?

So. . .after receiving a lecture some guidance, I felt somewhat guilty about working on the stocking rather than on the other myriad of things that need to be done.

I tell you, sometimes, I’m so brilliant, I amaze even myself!

I remembered I had the Teaching the Classics DVDs that need to be watched / listened to.

MULTI-TASKING!  WAHOO!  guilt-free, baby!

I’m almost through the second, of 4, disks.

Do you know, I had a terrible time with the first disk though.  The intro did it.  The man goes through this whole story about his beautiful wife who created this program, (at least, he gives her the majority of the credit), and I’m left thinking, “Then why on earth isn’t she the one doing the teaching???”

********************************

Well, on Dec. 10 (2007), I took a picture of the cross-stitch as it was.  Thinking, erroneously, I would be able to finish by Christmas.

Looking back at this picture, I’m left wondering where my brain was when I had this idea.

DRUMROLL. . . .

No, really, I want a whole marching band and huge parade, and a national holiday marked in honor of. . .

YES!  I’m DONE!

I’m planning to do the final sewing tomorrow (making the actual stocking).

3 comments on “REJOICE with me!!!

  1. monkeyschool says:

    WOW! – The cross-stitch work is amazing. I would have considered the December 10th picture alone a huge accomplishment. Congratulations. Please do post another picture of it when it is all together.

    Nice job!

  2. Sunshine says:

    Hey, you’re doing better than me, I can’t cross-stitch or sew ANYTHING to save my life! I know, I’m a pathetic excuse for a woman. Only in those areas though, in the others, I rock! 😛 Congrats girlie! I’m so happy for you! 😀

  3. Anne M. says:

    Great job!! It looks spectacular!

Leave a Reply

