Sunday afternoon. . .procrastination again

We have finally found a church we can agree on.

That’s really saying something!

Being military and moving frequently is a big pain in the rear to finding churches.

I think I’ve mentioned how it takes me at least 2 years to move into a place. . .Half the time we don’t find a church.

But, we finally found one that Jay and I agree on.

The boys all think it could be better. . .but they are “o.k.” with it.  (Based on what they tell me, I see that they miss a little more organization than what they feel they are getting.  HA! and we homeschoolers feel we live in chaos!)

The preacher at this church can get a bit “long-winded”, which, while Jay doesn’t seem to appreciate that quality in me, he deems it as a great quality in a minister.  Yet, more importantly, the man has the ability to make the message applicable to your life.

Let me tell you this is a gift!  I found it more often true than not, that the person up front is “just talking to hear themselves speak”, or at least that’s what you come away feeling. 

*******************

Anyway,

 hmmm, I was going somewhere with this. . .

AHA!

The chemistry book that needs to be scheduled and is “looking” reproachful reminded me.

*******************

So, if you’ve read a sampling of my blogs, I believe you would find a few common themes amongst them.

  1. My family is everything to me, though they drive me batty
  2. I always feel I’m disorganized
  3. I AM the Procrastinator Extraordinaire!

That’s funny, as “P.E.” is not really my “thing”. . .one of the reasons I left the military. . .

Egads!  I sidetracked myself again! 

*************

The preacher!

Yes, that’s it. . .he was talking about how we frequently “know” what God wants us to do , but we have a nasty tendency to walk away from it. 

This kind of struck me as your “conscience” 

— sing it with me,

“and always let your conscience be your guide. . .” (Jimminy Cricky in Pinocchio)

By doing this (walking away from what we know /believe to be the right path) we in fact find ourselves going backwards in our life.

Yep, that’s where I feel right now.  (WHEW!  finally got to the point!)

I have this chemistry book to finish scheduling, R&S grammar to schedule, papers to grade, more sciences to schedule, some maths, entire history unit studies. . .

On top of that, I want to run a better household.  I want to reserve time for Drew to “mentor” him (I don’t dare call it “teach” as he’s a teen, and he’ll tell you he’s smarter than I.)  I need other times reserved for instructing each of the other 3.

Need to reserve time, daily, for Jay as well. . .

I want time for me!!!

The LIST.

And that’s part of the problem!  I see the number of things that need to be done.  And it’s overwhelming. . . so I tend to procrastinate. . .and by procrastinating things aren’t getting done. . . which means the list isn’t decreasing in size. . .(and we all know that it’s increasing.)

Do you see the little nasty circle?!  

So, I’m ADMITTING to you, I am the cause of that circle! (of my own “backwards path”)

Me, Myself and I.  The “unholy” trio. . .

There’s probably a plan of steps. . .

  1. admission
  2. . . .

OH! forget it, that’s a whole ‘nother list!

So, here’s another song for you. . .

just put one foot in front of the other. . .” (The Winter Warlock in “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town”)

. . .she sings as she signs off to diligently work on the Chemistry schedule.

(Oh, and let’s remember the Winter Warlock become “good” while singing this song.)

This entry was posted in family.

One comment on “Sunday afternoon. . .procrastination again

  1. Sunshine says:

    I bet I beat you in the procrastinator realm. Just ask me about the book. You know the one I have to re-read and re-find, and re-resume all the research for, let along write. Or about getting my podcasts on ITunes. Or getting my new site up and worked on. Or finishing the site I already have. Or the e-books. Or………. ugh, I just gave myself a headache! 😦

Leave a Reply

