Food and other things

Other things first

Okay, so I was sent to go view someone’s blog earlier this week.  Personally, I think the writer could have been much more effective in her message, but beyond that she had some serious language.  . . .

Which is fine.  I’m a big girl (and ex-military) so I can hack it

However, the blog author then made a second post of some book recommendations.  (She’s not a homeschooler.)  I’ll link to that post, but do be aware that this comes with a severe language warning.

Both books that she lists are books that have been on my “want to read list” for ages, but I just haven’t gotten to it.  (We’ve already been through my reading. . . )  She lists a third book, but I’m not interested in it (you may be).

*************************

This is a blog link that my two older ones sent me to.  This one, I would seriously recommend looking at:

What We Eat

Don’t worry, I’ll wait while you go check it out (don’t close the screen).

dum-de-dumm-dumm, dum-de-dumm
dum-de-dumm-dumm, do! da-da-da-da-da

Oh, back all ready?  Yes, we adults tend to just give a cursory glance.

You didn’t close the screen did you?

The older boys were most impressed with the beverage selections. . .

Yes, I’ll wait. . .

Notice the candy stockpile in Poland?  Premade food in America?

The varieties?  The price tags!?  The family sizes / compositions?

Speaking of compositions, I think the composition of the pictures is fantastic.

So, you all want to try it?

I mean figure out what your family eats in a week, come up with (NOT “make up”) a tally (price tag), tell us the size of your family.  Maybe take a picture of your weekly groceries?  (That would be difficult, I know.)

You know, if you had to take a picture, there would be a serious added benefit.  Because all of us would be thinking about what others are seeing, so I’m betting you would put more fruits and veggies in.

Speaking of which, it’d be fun to see Sunshine’s photo (as she’s raw/vegan).

So, you wanna?

Shall we give it a go? 

Pick 7 days and start your tally.  (post a comment to let us know you are going to give it a shot, and then next weekend I’ll ask everyone to post their results.)

Don’t fudge your numbers!  (Like not mention the candy bar you ate everyday after lunch. . . or the price tag.)

If I can, I’ll try to figure out that “Mr. Linky gizmo” and put it on next weeks so everyone can post their results.

2 comments on “Food and other things

  1. Sunshine says:

    Hey chica, I can’t do this one until the 18th or 19th. I leave in less than 48 hours. Can I do mine after I get back?:D

  2. PMS666 says:

    Thanks for linking to/mentioning my post. I agree I could’ve been more effective than my shrieking tirade against public schooling suggests. It was more of a cathartic release than anything else. Sorry for all the cussing…:)

Leave a Reply

