Haircut!

I despise going to get my hair cut.  It takes so incredibly long, and they never get it “right”. . .

Well, one person got it right. . .so I know what “right” is supposed to look like.

But, it’s been 2 years since my last hair cut, and I decided it was time.  I took before and after pictures which were quite interesting. . .to me.

I grew up having deathly straight hair.  The kind that would lose a curl within minutes.  I remember times when my mother would put my hair in rollers and I would “sleep” in them (face it, no-one sleeps with things in your head that feel like accu-torture), only to take them out in the morning and just watch the wave melt away.

It was sad. . .

Ah, but here ya go, age apparently helps.

See, I’ve got a bit of a wave!  I didn’t even know that!

So, that was my hair yesterday right before I ran to the hair shop.

(Okay, just so you know, I had thrown on the red shirt right before the pic, as I knew I would be wearing it today. . .easy to know what you are going to wear when the person in charge of laundry is BEHIND!  I took off the red shirt directly after the picture.)

The lady who cut my hair was concerned I might be “mad” (crazy) at wanting my hair cut in the style I showed her (thinking I would be upset at how short it was).  However, she went along with it.  She was really impressed with how healthy it was.  She told me it was very beautiful, and then she grabbed a handfull and WACKED it off!  I don’t think it was 10 inches she cut off. . .maybe closer to 8?  Anyway, she saved it to donate to some organization.  Fine by me.

The lady got the back of my hair right; albeit a bit shorter than I would have preferred.  However, 0600 this a.m. found me in front of the bathroom mirror with a pair of scissors trying to fix the sides / front.  (I think I’ve got it about right. . .but I need someone else to ensure it’s even.)

Anyway, here’s the new “do” (taken this a.m.).

So?  Whatdya think?

(Oh, and if anyone has any ideas of popping off with “Cousin It” comments. . .no frontals, because my LOVELY children had a great time trying to create distorted photos whilst taking pictures of my face. . .)

It will take me awhile to adjust to it.  I had to rinse my hair 3 times this a.m. as I had put in too much shampoo.

*****************************

My Mom told me I need to write the next installment on how Jay and I got together. . .Maybe tomorrow.  I’m not in the mood; it’s grey and dreary outside and it’s making me tired.

3 comments on “Haircut!

  1. Sunshine says:

    I love it! 😀 Know what you mean about having to get used to it, I hacked mine off too, and there are STILL some days where I’m not used to it. 😉

  2. Sarah F. says:

    I love it! I just got mine whacked off a few months ago. It wasn’t quite as long as yours, but pretty darn close.

  3. Kathy says:

    You’re definitely a candidate for the _Curly Girl_ thing. I read the book several years ago and haven’t looked back. Love the cut!

Leave a Reply

