Quilted

The “book”, is in it’s final stages.  About 2000 last night (that’s 8p.m.) I could hardly keep my eyes opened any longer.  And I’ve too often heard about the time my Mom sewed her own finger in the machine to fiddle with chance.

 Brings to mind that silly game kids play where they hold your wrist, cutting off circulation, and then pretend to “draw a string” through your palm. . .

**************************

In visiting a number of homeschool forums recently, I was struck by the number of people that have more than one blog (personal, family, homeschool).

How do they divide it?   

It seems this would be too much like tearing the pieces of a quilt apart. . .You’d end up with odd fragments, funky colors / patterns, no cohesion. . .

I’m fond of quilts. . .

I was in a quilting “guild” in Germany.  Didn’t quilt anything there, as I didn’t have time, but I went to the monthly meetings to see what others did.  I was always amazed and awed.  Some of the older women would show samples of  the fabrics they used before they ever displayed the quilt pieces. 

I was always sitting there saying, “YUCK! they had to dig in the 60s barrel for that!”  And yet, I was completely blown away by the beauty of the finished quilt.

I think, when I grow up, I want to make quilts. . .

I’ve made one, a “basket weave” quilt.  If I can find a picture later on, I’ll post it here (meaning of course, that you’d have to come back here to see if I had).  It was “okay” for a first ever quilt.  And I would say it was even “good” given that I’d never even put a quilt piece together in my life.

I have a quilt from a great grandmother.  (At least, I believe I still have it, though it’s stored now.)  One of those “sun bonnet” (I think that’s what it’s called) quilts.  I always loved that one.  Maybe I’ll take a picture of that and post it too. . .

Anyway, I think, that’s how I like my blog. . .”quilted”.  It’s definately how I like to think of my life. 

All the little “strange” and individual pieces coming together bit by bit to form a beatiful whole.  Shades of dark and light, varying textures, intricate designs, new additions, changes sometimes subtle, somestimes not-so. . .

Yep, definitely quilted.

And most certainly, I want to stitch it so well that, like the quilt made for me by my great-grandmother, the fabric gives way before the stitching.

This entry was posted in family.

One comment on “Quilted

  1. Sunshine says:

    Beautifully said! 😀

Leave a Reply

