Education via Mack Truck (or Freight Train)

feel free to take your pick. . .

You know, for children, learning comes softly.  Truly, anything sudden is thought of as drastic as flipping a switch (and thus the “lightbulb” is switched on).

But, I have discovered that as an adult, it’s not so gentle.

Nope, education, as an adult, comes at you like a Mack Truck.

Except, this week, it’s more like a freight train, as each day, I seemed to get smacked with something new.

Like yesterday’s revelation that other people feel inadequate too. . .

Today, I was discussing writing with a friend.  Teaching writing, that is; editing rough drafts even more precisely.

I don’t like that job!  Nope, not a bit.  Because my kids want me to “HELP” them.

So, I go through punctuation and spelling.  I discuss logical sequence.  Remind them of topic and closing sentences (E-V-E-R-Y SINGLE TIME).  Then we talk about word usage, and sentence variety. . .and I leave the room.

And, darned if they don’t start squealing

“Mom, how are we supposed to learn this if you don’t TEACH us?”

GGGGRRRR!

Now, we have talked / discussed / practiced all these things I tell them ad naseum.  We even have checklists, for heaven’s sakes!

At some point it’s got to kick in on it’s own right?  All too frequently, I have looked at work that they’ve turned in knowing that a good portion of it is “me” — my word suggestions, my “logical order” (and according to Jay, that’s VERY subjective). . .

I mean, I truly believe that, at some point, they need to “take the map” and navigate their own way.

***********************

Which, in a round about way, brings the whole point. . . because I had 2 head-whoppin’ moments today.

I was discussing this whole editing ordeal with my friend. (I did mention that earlier, didn’t I. . . )

And, almost in the same vein as yesterday’s post, the whole idea of “positive / negative” came up.

How many times have I simply stated what was wrong/ to be fixed without ever pointing out the positives?

*sigh*. . .yet another failing.

***************************

Oh, and then the whole schedule thing came up again!  Not from the phone call, but from many sources over the course of this past week. . .but it just hit me today.

See, I’m a scheduler. . .I’ve stated it before.  It’s a fact.

But for some INSANE reason, I thought this year that I would slacken the whole scheduling thing (particularly our daily schedule).

What on EARTH was I thinking???

If a person is a scheduler, it means one thing:  They NEED a schedule.  I NEED a schedule.

So, tomorrow, I’m going to try to avoid the traffic of interstates (mack trucks seem to favor them), and railroads, and I’m going to pull out my schedule and get myself back on track.

Can you hear the Rocky music????

This entry was posted in family.

2 comments on “Education via Mack Truck (or Freight Train)

  1. Sunshine says:

    I’m sorry you and they are having such a hard time right now. That’s no fun for anyone. 😦

  2. dena says:

    I think that you and I are members of the same club. At least it sounds as though we stuggle in the same battles.
    Have a good rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

