US History — early elementary

I got fussed at for such a “blah” post yesterday!

Geez!  Some people!

Mikhail is throwing up today. . .that’s how the poor kid woke up.  *sigh*

There!  How’s that for an exciting post!

******************************************

But, you know from my post title that’s not the end of the post.

I’m actually excited, as I’m going to begin work on my next BIG schedule (US history for the littles 2nd/3rd grade)  This schedule is going to be “unit-ish”.  Yes, I do know there are such things already out there (Sonlight and Winter’s Promise come to mind), but neither of those worked for me, and I’m looking to create something else. . .

AND, thanks to a friend, I’ve got a NAME for this schedule!

“Our Quilted Nation”

Don’t you love it?

Well, if you don’t, sorry to say, “I don’t care, ‘cuz I do”.  I like it because, unlike the “melting pot” that I was taught, and which is SO NOT true, I think this is a bit more accurate description.

Yes, I know, someone is completely rolling right now, due to my “tact” (lack thereof) which she is constantly trying to help me work on.  It’s a lost cause, I tell ya!

Anyway, I came up with a rough outline yesterday.  Should I share it?  hmmm?

Our Quilted Nation — Outline

I’m looking to fill it in with the following:

  • historical fiction selections / easy biographies
  • historical songs (Battle of New Orleans, Yankee Doodle, 8th of November, come to mind)
  • art / craft / hands-on projects
  • “interactives” (mini-books to put either in Lapbooks™ or on cardstock in notebooks)
  • geography / timeline ideas
  • poems / copywork?
  • games?
  • other items I haven’t thought of yet?

I have a number of these items already, and have printed off my outline and started handwriting them in.  (It’s easier to carry the paper to all the resources than all the resources to the ‘puter.)

I have a spine picked out too.  The outline essentially says I have 2 years to work with, but I don’t know if it’ll take that long to do.

So far, all my schedules are pretty straightforward.  All I do is take something and give them a daily plan.  It was suggested that for this one, I should “add more”.  I wouldn’t know what to add, honestly, except maybe an introduction.  I’m giving it some consideration though.

I do know, I’d like to find a lot of “free” resources.  A person could go broke buying all the “activities on this topic” for kids books (especially if you are only using one or 2 of the activities from the book).

Oh, and there was one other thing.  I would like to come up with “quilt squares” for each main topic (like a Caravel for “Exploration”)– maybe a couple of “patterns” for each topic.  Not “quilt squares” that necessarily need to be sewn, but could be — maybe just something like a coloring page that would be a sqare, or something you could piece together out of paper. . .

Upon thinking about this a bit more, I think I’m going to ask for some “help”.  Maybe you have an idea or a resource, or maybe you have a talent you wish to share (I’m thinking of those mini-books, or quilting). . .maybe you just wanna tell me I’m nuts. . .

Consider yourself drafted!  Post your thoughts / ideas / resources in the comments section, please.

4 comments on “US History — early elementary

  1. cm says:

    This sounds great. I’m going to think about some recommendations.

  2. Janelle P. says:

    We have used the free history curriculum at: http://www.ourlosbanos.com/homeschool/history/americanhistoryindex.html

    We are not following it exactly, but it is a great resource for activity ideas, living books, etc.

    Hope that helps!

  3. corefoundations says:

    I am aware of this site also; however, it does not take US history all the way through, (ending around the Civil War).

  4. Mandi says:

    This outline is excellent! Nice job. I wish I could think of those things myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

