“survival” is a matter of opinion

I’m desperately trying to come up with a single body part that is not currently sore. . .

AHA!  My ears!  Both of them!  They are not sore in the slightest!  All because I refused Jay’s kind offer to wear hearing protection today.  (And staved off looking like an airport traffic dude; which is good as we have lots of helicopters in the area. . .)

Course, if you want to talk to me, you’ll have to speak up. . .

 Okay, as my hands / fingers are sore / swollen I don’t care to type much more, so this will mostly be a photo listing. . .

*******************************

The front flower bed (still have to remove the sidewalk around the front. . .and somehow don’t have a before picture)

Army boots!  THE best garden wear a gal could have!  Course, you’d have to join the military to get them and break them in.  Or, I hear tell you can get them at a surplus store, but where’s the fun in that?

This was the garden area that needed to be tackled today.  Yesterday the boys took down the fence.

Tyler wanted to help out (as it involved machinery, I’m sure), but after thinking on it about 2 minutes, I determined that he had none of the proper gear on (no boots), and made him give it up.

The little guys helped out by creating a “worm rescue”. 

 

All rescued worms are now happily “planted” in their new homes — accept for the few dozen that were devoured discovered by a hungry bird whilst awaiting relocation in their bright pink bucket.

Drew and Tyler constructed the squares for me yesterday.  There are still two more to do, but Home Depot ran out of wood.  I keep telling Jay it gets embarrassing going there with him!  I’m still not done tilling the garden area yet, but 2/3rds is done!  And I’m going shopping tomorrow for food regardless!  We’re out of peanut butter!

Jay buckled down and tackled the windows in our “extension”.  He enlisted Drew’s help. . .I think I shall just add the photos here, and let you figure out the rest.  (Oh, and by the way, our extension “windows” consisted of a sheet of plexi-glass and storm windows. . . We haven’t needed a freezer all winter long. . . 😉 That bit was a joke — sort-of, sadly the window bit was true.)

 

This entry was posted in family.

2 comments on ““survival” is a matter of opinion

  1. Sarah F. says:

    I am so jealous! I want my garden so bad, but it still isn’t constructed. Maybe just maybe I’ll be able to get in a few tomatoes at the very least.

  2. Sunshine says:

    I’m glad at least someone has a yard big enough for a garden! I can’t believe you still have your boots! I got rid of mine YEARS ago!

Leave a Reply

