honored guest

So, I’ve been thinkin’. . .

HEY! cut that snickerin’ out!

Have you given any thought to how you treat guests?

Mmm-hmmm. . .and, ummm, exactly how do you treat your family?

I recall a time, shortly after I was married, and my folks were coming out for a visit.  For some reason or other, my platoon sergeant had to come by (still in the Army then).  I recall him coming in the house and remarking that he’d never seen my barrack’s room look so spotless as he was seeing our home.  As I just said, I was expecting my parents.  General inspections don’t terrify me near as much as my Mom’s casual perusals.

Oh, and by the way Mom, my excuse now-a-days is kids and creatures (and a much larger house). . .  

I think it’s Jeff Foxworthy that has a skit on cleaning house when guests suddenly arrive at the door?  Something akin to shoving everything in the closet.  Have you ever been guilty of that? Yes, you may as well raise your hand high — no-one can see ya, and it does the body good to be truthful.

But, when guests come, I try to have the house. . .well, I at least try to get rid of the destructive evidence clutter, and have a place where people can sit down.  Oh, and I may even dust!

Actually, when guests are here, I’m much more pleasant than I am on a day-to-day-with-my-family basis.  For example, when a guest is here I don’t holler at my kids when they decide to throw a water balloon INDOORS.  Nope, I calmy take them aside and threaten hairy-cary at a later time talk to them about the reprocussions of their crime.

When a guest speaks to me, I set aside all the things I’m working on and give them my full attention.  As opposed to the very common occurrence of telling my kiddoes, “Leave me be!”

I try to anticipate my guests needs and wants and go out of my way to succeed in fulfilling them.

Should you be a guest on my blog and write me a question, I try my darndest to get back to you within 24 hours.  There are some family members that wrote me quite some time ago that I haven’t given the same courtesy.

You know, last summer, I was watching another kid for 2 weeks. 

For two weeks my house was kept mighty clean, I actually adhered to my schedule.  He did school with us, so I ensured that I had all the school prep work done the night before.

All so I wouldn’t embarrass myself. . .in front of a 5 year old guest!  Like he would truly even notice!

And, I’m thinking of this and again considering, how is it that I treat my family?

PS  Garrett is sick now, but Mikhail is doing much better.

This entry was posted in family.

5 comments on “honored guest

  1. dena says:

    You are absolutely correct. This is something I remind my children of often. I say,”Would you treat/say to your friends the way you are treating/speaking to your sister?”
    It makes me stop in my tracks when I remember this very important way of looking at those we love.
    Great post.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Awesome post! Yep, I have to remind myself of that too from time to time. 🙂 I think we all do, part of what makes us all human. 😀

  3. Sunshine says:

    Hope all the kiddos are feeling better REALLY soon!

  4. Donna says:

    Great post, Christine.
    Thanks for the reminder to value our family.
    AD

  5. Sarah F. says:

    Ouch!!! Too close to home.

Leave a Reply

