Neglectful

I wish I could tell you that I’ve been neglecting my blog because I accomplished something.  Sadly, that is not the case.

The dining room is still “in progress”, as is the cross-stitch.  My house is in total disarray, and I’m having problems getting school done (and some serious problems getting a bit of it scheduled).  I still don’t even have all of Drew’s school books this year!  Not a good start considering we officially “started” school yesterday.

mmm-hmmm

What I can tell you is that every day I spend inordinate amounts of time doing “things”.  At the end of the day I would be hard-pressed to tell you exactly “what” things I’ve been doing, but I could tell you that they’ve worn me out.  I am seeing bits of progress here and there, so I guess, there’s that.  But, it’s like the last cross-stitch pictures I posted. . .not that noticable a difference.

Slow and steady wins the race, right?

I have to tell you though, that my dear friend Mrs. H, another homeschooler, called me yesterday and said she was having a hard time getting motivated to start, so she suggested a “field-trip”.  Love that woman!  So, Friday, we’ll be off for adventure and fun (and maybe a bit of learning thrown in?).

I did manage to get the boys phonics activities prepared (last night).  They currently have one page per each letter of the alphabet.  It has a coloring picture, an artwork, and handwriting on it.  (They will be adding 2 elements to it as well.)  These pages are truly a work of art if I do say so mayself, and I’d show them to you, but it’d break copyright laws.  (I’m allowed to use for my family, but not to display or share.)  So, you just have to take my word for it.

I want you to know I agonized over the handwriting.  F-O-R-E-V-E-R!  I have boys, and I can tell you the standard script with all the pretty curlies and what have you. . .NOT good.  They aren’t even good for me, so I can’t really say it’s a “guy” thing.  And then, there is the whole printing / cursive deal.

I’ve decided they are learning cursive right from the get-go.  From everything I’ve read this really shouldn’t cause them any more problems than learning to print.  And I’ve decided on the Italic style.

Yep, that took me like a month to figure out. . .

I had also mentioned that I was having problems doing their schedule.  In fact, I’ve determined it’s downright impossible to give the youngers a daily schedule.  Completely impractical!  In math and phonics, it’s pointless to go on to the next thing until you are solidly grounded in the “current topic”.  So, I will be doing a daily journal of their activities.  This is concerning to me, as I don’t do well without schedules.  I tend to put things off.

However, I did go through and make subject schedules for *me* to go by.  Day one do this, day two do this, but if day one didn’t go well, then spend more time on day one IN THIS SUBJECT, kind of dealy.  Hopefully that will help.

Also, I created a “report card” of sorts for me.  I wrote down all my minimum goals for the kids (the younger two) that I want to get through this year.

Hopefully, that will keep me on target.

The older two are presenting me with their own special scheduling issues.  But, that’s a topic for another day.  Now, I need to go get this day going in the right direction.

This entry was posted in family.

2 comments on “Neglectful

  1. lauranav says:

    The phonics pages sound great! I hope it goes well with the cursive. All I can say is that Connor’s writing is legible, but we need to get some copywork in the schedule because he puts spaces at odd places. The report card looks like a great idea.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Hey girlie! Mind sharing WHAT phonics program/sheets you’re using for them? So the rest of us could check it out for ourselves should we wish? I think you could make a loose schedule for the younger two. Something to the tune of:

    MWF: Social studies, art, phonics, math
    T/Th: Science, music, phonics, math

    Whatever else you wanted to add, you would just figure out what days you wanted to do them and add it in.

    HTH! 😀

Leave a Reply

