The “Grand Plan”

Well, I guess it’s well past time that I fessed up to this year’s school plans.

Because we all know that I have one. . . somewhere. . .(I hear that snickering!)

I essentially posted Garrett (6yo) and Mikhail‘s (5yo) yesterday, but I’ll put it in bullets here:

  • PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:  Learn to read
  • basic math
  • ancient – medieval history introduction
  • basic science introduction
  • all those extras I’m too lazy to go into

 

Right now I’m trying to keep those two together and it’s working fine.  I can tell you that their handwriting is atrocious, but given that they’ve only had one day at it, I guess that’s “okay”.

Tyler (8th grader, 14 yo):

  • PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: Writing
  • American History up to the Civil War
  • American Lit to include:
    • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
    • “Common Sense” by Thomas Paine
    • The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano, or Gustavus Vassa by Olaudah Equiano
    • “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” by Washington Irving
    • Selected Poetry by William Cullen Bryant
    • The Last of the Mohicans by James Fennimore Cooper
    • Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass
    • “The Tell-Tale Heart” by Edgar Allen Poe
    • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
    • “Concord Hymn” and “Friendship” by Ralph Waldo Emerson
    • Moby Dick by Herman Melville
    • Selected Poetry by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
    • Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe (possibly do this next year?)
  • Apologia General Science
  • Rod & Staff grammar
  • Finish TT Pre-Al  then TT Alg. 1
  • other stuff. . .

Drew (11th grader, 16 yo):

  • PRIMARY OBJECTIVE: Writing
  • World History survey  (Using Spielvogel’s book Western Civilization — college text.  My main concern with this is adding writing assignments into here.  Anybody have any ideas, or better yet, a list of questions?  I’m all ears!)
  • World Lit. to include:
    • Poetry studies
    • Epic of Gilgamesh
    • Greek & Roman Mythology
    • Odyssey
    • Oedipus Rex
    • Antigone
    • Aeneid
    • The Tragedy of Julius Caesar
    • The Song of Roland
    • Ivanhoe
    • La Vita Vuova
    • The Misanthrope
    • The Law
    • The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Short Stories
  • Finish Chemistry and then into Physics
  • Saxon Advanced Mathmatics
  • Consumer math
  • driving???  (big scaredy eyes here!)

 

Now, Drew has had a brief intro to world history a few years ago, but I discovered he was sorely lacking in American History, so I spent the last two years correcting that, but now I’ve gotta get world history in again.  I really wish I had found the Well Trained Mind before I started homeschooling!  And, sometimes, I really wish I had discovered homeschooling before I ever sent the kids to school.  *sigh*

Oh, and I guess both Tyler and Drew are going to be working with me on election stuff.  I really feel inadequate for that.  Especially as Drew has a wonderful tendency to ask questions; questions I don’t have the foggiest notion how to answer.  But, the interest, for him anyway, is definately there, and this being election year, it’s the perfect time to go for it.  And, I suppose it’s perfect for Tyler too with his covering Am. history this year.

Tomorrow we are on a “field trip” so you may not hear from me till this weekend.  If not, have a great one!

This entry was posted in family.

2 comments on “The “Grand Plan”

  1. lauranav says:

    That looks great. I need to keep a copy of your American history reading list for a few years down the road. The IEW Ancient History is probably a bit too beginner level for an 11th grader. Wish I had more advice, but as you know, I’m a newbie!
    Things are going well here. Glad to see you have a good plan for the year. I’ll keep checking in to see how it goes.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Wanna make a plan for us? I only have primary objectives. And those are loose as well. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

