Election Confession

So, you haven’t heard from me in awhile.  I can honestly say, it was “election” related.  This election has had me so hot under the collar, I surprised even myself.

I have never, in my life, voted before today.  (Okay. . .just in case you missed it, that was the confession.)

Oh, and you need to pick your jaw off the floor now too. . .

Now, this is a topic of major angst amongst many, and I’m sure I’ve dropped to a complete ZERO in many people’s eyes.  That’s okay; honestly, I can live with it.

And given that most people that read this blog are family members anyway, they already knew.

Now, what’s interesting is that people assume that I never voted because I don’t care, or I’m not patriotic, or I don’t believe my vote will count.

Well, on that last one, I do have issues with the electoral college. . .And, umm, you can think me unpatriotic, but I sure as heck didn’t join the Army for it’s choice of fashion.

Actually, those reasons are not why.  I do follow elections and candidates very closely and in my mind, I was actually casting a vote each and every time I DECIDED not to vote.

Because, you see, they don’t put on the ballots “None of the above, all the choices suck and we need to start anew.”

And guess what?  They track the number of registered voters that DON’T vote.  So, there you have it, my “vote” was counted each and every time.

This year however, I actually found someone that I truly believed would make a good president. . . except they are on a third party ticket.

Now, I can’t stand major candidate A; and major candidate B isn’t a much better option.  I know this isn’t just me, because I see, daily, people complaining about voting “between a rock and a hard place” or “the lesser of two evils”.

Well, logic dictates, if you vote between a rock and a hard place, you’re going to wind up “uncomfortable” at the very least.  And if you are going for the “lesser of two evils”. . .well, that means you are going to wind up with something evil.

No thank-you!

However, I’ve been stressing.  A third party candidate doesn’t really have much of a shot.  And I dislike one of the major candidates so much, that I’ve been thinking I should vote for the other just to ensure the one I dislike won’t get in.

And this has been causing me major grief. . .

Now, my pastor at church this past Sunday had a sermon about Biblical principles we should consider when deciding to vote.  I didn’t go.  For two reasons:  the first being I’m quite certain I know the principles I should base my decision on; the second because I was quite certain that he was going to keep it between the two major candidates. . .and to be honest, I don’t think that (keeping it between the two major -man-made- parties) is Biblical. 

So, I’ve been. . .cranky.  And last night if you asked me who I was going to vote for, I would have said, “I don’t know.”

This morning I woke up with a very clear story in my head, which (amazingly enough) led me to 1 Samuel 16:7.

And, after getting up and ready for the day, I gathered all 4 boys and we went to vote (our polling spot is walking distance from our house).  Drew, the 16 year old, even went with me to cast my ballot so he can see how it’s done should he choose to vote in the next election.  (We had to get special permission from the election judges for that.)

I will say, voting was extremely. . .anti-climatic.  And I’m not turning on the tv or listening to the news until tomorrow.  Drew said it was anti-climatic for him as well, but he wants to watch the news tonight  to get an idea of what’s happening.

This entry was posted in family.

Leave a Reply

