Christmas. . .

Don’t really have a title for this. . .though it could very easily be:

What?!  Christmas is in 3 days???!!!

Yep, that about sums it up. . .

Except for one little, minor. . .insignificant, detail.

For those that may be new:

Back in Jan of of this year (Jan 12), I finished my youngest son’s stocking (the stitching of it).  I had worked on it for 2 years.

On Jan 13, in an attempt to actually create the stocking, I ruined the stitching.

And then, I went shopping and bought the supplies I would need to re-do the stocking.  I can not tell you how much I just wanted to land in a heap and cry. . .oh, well, I did do that. . .maybe I should say how much I didn’t want to get up from that heap. . .

It was actually a very proud Mommy Moment for me that I did get up and get going.  I kept telling myself, “Look at the example you are setting for your children.”

Thinking back, I suspect they didn’t even notice.

Be that as it may. . .

In Sept, I finished the cross-stitching,

and then, in a moment of sheer stupidity happiness, put the darn thing down to be neglected till Dec. . .

when I remembered a promise I had made to get it done this year.

One of my friends suggested I just sew it “as-is” and be done with it.  That my son would never notice the back stitching.

Yet, on Saturday morning I finally finished the back-stitching:

And, just to clarify how observant this particular child is, if you click on the above picture and enlarge it. . .He’s the one that pointed it I had forgotten the button on the snow-man (which is now there).

In January, I had messed up the stocking by accidentally, putting the backing on the front of the stocking.  Ironed on with Heat n Bond.  In a complete “ditz” moment of not paying attention to detail.  I kept the ruined stitchwork, as a reminder, till Sunday when I completed the backing on the new stitchwork

and threw out the old.  See, backing on the proper side!

Mikhail is ecstatic! So am I!

Now, all I have to do to prepare for Christmas, which is mere days away, is shop and wrap and clean and bake and decorate.

So, don’t be surprised if you don’t see me on here anytime soon. . .

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!

4 comments on “Christmas. . .

  1. Laura says:

    Congratulations on finishing it!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. oooh… I LOVE it!! That is an heirloom! Don’t kill yourself in all the hustle Christine =)

  3. Sunshine says:

    I am SO happy for you! 😀 It is beautiful! 😀 Great job Mama! 😀

  4. MNGarden says:

    Moms always come through. What a great example you are to your children. I love the stocking.
    AD

Leave a Reply

