Review of 20 Feb

It took me almost 3 hours just to upload the photos for this day!  This is for my blogging friend “Mrs. Dewey“, who spent some years in this area.  I had absolutely NO idea what she would want to see. . .Thank goodness for DIGITAL!!!  (I suppose I fall under the category of better too much than too little — ‘course if you have a slow internet connection, you may not be thinking similarly.)

Plus, as I had said, this was our favorite locale. . .

20 Feb 2009 — Ephesus, Turkey (and some shots from Izmir)

 These shots were taken whilst driving to Ephesus (from Izmir). 

The start of a cemetary (the white stone are markers)

I will tell you I was quite a bit shocked by how green it was. 

As you can see it was quite overcast.  In fact, it started raining as we started up Bulbul Mountain to the House of the Virgin Mary.  And as we started up the mountain the question was asked to our guide how much snow falls in the area.  He stated, quite firmly, that “it never snows here”.  And here is the surprise for ya. . .Mere minutes after he stated this “fact”, it started snowing!  Generously!  Big, fat, juicy flakes!  For the first time in 25-30 years (or so) the region had snow.

I was taking a picture of the well and this is what I got.  Honestly, I know it’s just a snowflake!  But, doesn’t it look like an infant in a Swee’Pea outfit?  Isn’t it cool that it looks like that at the House of the Virgin Mary by a well?  (Possibly should reiterate my whole, I’m not Catholic, and I apologize if I offend.)  Jay says I’ve spent too much time looking at photos!

This is “George”.  Actually, his real name is Fahmi (pronounced: fa-mee).  But he thought it would be easier for us to say “George”.  Personally, I found that to strike me a lot of Middle Eastern arrogance that I’ve come to take as par for the course; but Jay suspects that maybe he feared someone would add a “K” sound in between the syllables . . . (DO NOT say that out loud!!!!)

Statue at the sight

This one has a story. . . The entire time at the sight the guide, George, kept talking about a red line that was painted on the building.  He kept telling us that below the red line was original, and above the red line was the reconstruction. . .We looked high and low for that bloomin’ red line!  Couldn’t find it anywhere.  However, I did find this cat that looked like he had the right idea, in getting out of the snow, and as I’m fond of cats, I snapped the shot. . .AND just lookie what I found looking at the photos upon our return home!!! (see the painted red line?)

Yeah right, George. . .it never snows here. . .mmm-hmmm

See the “clumps”?  Might possibly make you think of a poorly maintained field. . .they are, in fact, ruins.  The countryside is literally riddled with them.

Statue of the Virgin Mary on the mountainside.

For your perusal:

 Wikipedia: Ephesus  is a nice site for the history / geography of the place.

 Ephesus: Ancient City is simply FABULOUS.   This “Did you know?” is kind of a fun introduction.

If the photos aren’t labeled, it’s because I just don’t know. . .

Bath of Varius

The Agora — “business”.  (both above and below pics — where I was standing, not where the photo is pointing)

Know this is an “odd” photos as everything kind of seems blurry; except for the fennel plants.  (those fuzzy clumps of green)

I suspect this is the backside of the Fountain of Pollio.  (????)

Part of the Hydrekdocheion

Tomb of Memmius

Domitian Square and Temple of Domitian

 

Hmmm. . .Okay, our guide said this was the Marble Road and I can attest to the fact, rock person that I am (HA!), that it appeared to be made of marble.  Yet, upon research I’m inclined to believe it may, instead, be Curetes Street.  Can anyone tell me for sure or for certain? 

Okay, see that gray slopey building on the left of the above picture (about your 10 o’clock)?  Makes you think of the song “One of these things is not like the other. . .”?  It is a currently active “dig site” — and it reminds you of a mine shaft when viewed from the front.  The guide, told us what it was they were excavating there, but I can’t recall. . . Mom, do you???

OH! and if you look at the Curetes Street link the last paragraph talks about the shops with their mosaic floors — shown below.  Which is probably even more lovely when rain / snow isn’t washing all the dirt and mud over them.

Fountain of Trajan

 

Temple of Hadrian

Hadrian’s Gate

Celsus Library

Celsus Library floor

interior walls of the library — I was expecting to see niches for the scrolls to be placed in.  I don’t know what those alcoves are for, as I couldn’t figure out how to get over there (where those handy-dandy signs probably would have given me the answer) without my feet getting soaking wet.

Writing on the inside of the library wall.  Wonder if it says, “please be quiet” and “no food or drink inside”?

Gates of Mazeus and Mythridates  top and bottom (AKA Gate of Augustus — and I think that’s the name it’s most known by)

  Temple of Serapis and Commerical Agora (2 above and 1 below)

For the record, you may have noticed, the “other” agora listed towards the beginning.  It was the “business” agora. . .I’m thinking this is something that has been completely lost in translation for me. . .  The best I can come up with is that by “business” they mean something akin to “Wall Street” and by “commercial” they are implying a market?  Any ideas????

Church of Mary — The Double Churches

Below are a number of pictures of the Theatre from many different vantage points.  Knowing Mrs. Dewey had graduated at this spot I thought she would appreciate the many views (not to mention it was just COOL).

I particularly liked the umbrellas. . .a bit of gaiety on this dreary day

See the long “ribbon” behind the Theatre?  It’s the Arcadian Street (harbor road).  At one point Ephesus was a major PORT city.  It is now MILES from the ocean. 

Arcadian Street looking towards the “harbor” (top) and back towards Theatre (bottom).

Theatre Gymnasium 

Lunch was another buffet.

Sonlighters????  Remember the Silkworm book?  The basket is holding silkworm cocoons, the “hair” is actually spun silk.  The vat is filled with hot water (with a fire underneath), and the cocoons are soaking. 

The guy in the yellow vest is doing the work, and the guy in the sweater is explaining the process.  As the man works he takes a strainer and pulls out used cocoons and dead silkworms.

I know this is actually a bad picture, but see the man in the center holding a brush?  They use that to “stomp” the cocoons.  The cocoons that are “ready” will attach to the brush, (see them dangling there?).  He’s got about eight cocoons there.  They will take about 4 or 5 and thread them simultaneously onto the “leader” (the thread that’s already started being spun).  To be perfectly honest, I think at this point the yellow vest guy was a bit perturbed  as, as I had said, they generally only use 4-5 cocoons at a time and here the speaker got all excited and grabbed 8.)

In the above picture you can see the thread over the man’s vest.  He takes the 4-5 new cocoon threads and just twists them onto the thread that is already on the line. Which then spins onto this “gizmo” below.  Would you call this a spool?  Looking at the picture above again, and the example of spun silk, you can now understand why it seems so “thick” (as it’s 4-5 strands wound together simultaneously as opposed to a single strand).

The color their silk with natural products.  I guess I should have mentioned that we were at a carpet weaving “school”.  And at this particular locale they weave their carpets using silk.

A lady came in and they gave us a demonstration of her weaving (it was a bad picture though, so you are stuck with this one).  Each lady generally has about 5 patterns that she uses, and it is generally in her memory (though she does have a pattern).  When she stops weaving (retires) that pattern may never be done again, or it may depending if she passes it on.  The government is actually paying young ladies to enter these weaving schools so the art is not lost.

I took this picture thinking it was a mulberry tree, but then someone told me it was something different.  (I just don’t have a clue.)

And then it was back on the bus for the ride back to the ship.  NOTE:  Our Turkish driver only ignored 2 stop signs.

Vineyard

 Something in Izmir Mrs. Dewey may have never seen there before (Ikea).

Izmir (Almost all the roads we traveled on had this “wall” — this was the best photo I could get.)

Well, as I had said we had encountered rain and snow on our tour and every one was complaining about how cold they felt so the driver turned up the heat.  It was nice at first, but then I got just too hot.  So I wound up dashing off the bus, trying not to trample over Grandma, as soon as possible after it stopped and tried to find an out of the way place. . .couldn’t. . .added some “biodegradable material” to the edge of the parking lot.  (In front of at least 3 bus drivers no less!!!)  Once onboard ship my body was fully determined to rid itself of any and all contents.  not pleasant

Ephesus, is DEFINITELY worth a return trip!

**************************************

I’m taking the weekend off from posting my cruise reviews.  My brother is coming to visit! 

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!!!

5 comments on “Review of 20 Feb

  1. Ha! Finally! I LOVE it!

    Thanks so much for the walk down Memory Lane. This was just great! I’m going to have ‘Pomp and Circumstance’ running around in my head for the rest of the day now, though (my high school graduation ceremony was held in the amphitheater shown in your pictures . . . which is the same amphitheater mentioned in Acts 19:29, by the way. Just a little extra trivia for your readers.) 😉

    And no, I *never* saw it snow when I lived in Izmir.

    This was wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing it all!!!

  2. se7en says:

    This is amazing – we have never been to Turkey but we have lots of great friends there… it looks fabulous, I love all the pics and I am so sorry it takes forever to load them but so worth it for us virtual tourists! Thanks and have a Great Weekend!

  3. Mom says:

    The pic under “part of the Hydr….” is the Tomb of Memmius–says so on the plaque

  4. We have higher quality products than places like mulberry farms, and we always have silkworms in stock!

Leave a Reply

