And there I was

sound asleep.

Ya know, it just dawned on me, that “sound asleep” is what occurs when you are so deeply asleep that your brain turns off your ears.  This is actually a phenomenon that I am, personally, unfamiliar with.  Yet, my husband is frequently “sound asleep” as he doesn’t hear things like smoke alarms, or crying children or. . . .

So, I really wasn’t “sound asleep”.  But, as I’ve mentioned my allergies are acting up which makes my ears all “cloggy” and Jay had the fan going last night.  It was definately hard to hear.

Which is probably why it took Garrett a couple of times hollerin’, “Mommy!” to get my attention at approximately 0130 last night.  When I arrived in their bedroom (Garrett and Mikhail share one), it was to discover that Garrett was trying to get me as Mikhail was having a night terror.

Now, anyone who is actually familiar with “night terrors”, as opposed to “nightmares” which are a totally different animal altogether, will know right off that this time is “odd”.  (Night terrors generally occur about an hour after the child falls asleep.)

Yet, Mikhail has been hard struck by the allergy mess too.  Yesterday afternoon the poor kid went to bed at about 1600 (4 pm).  He slept fitfully.  He was awake at around 2000 for about 15-20 minutes, and then every couple of hours thereafter when he was awakened by a massive coughing fit.

Mikhail was sitting in his bed cowering in fear because, “Garrett’s dresser is trying to get over here and attack me.”

Luckily, the terror was short lived and I got him back in bed, asleep.  Poor kid!

He’s awake and feeling hunky-dory right now.  Based on my experience from this past week though, by around 3 pm he’ll be feeling rough.  I can’t find a single med that will work for him either.

I keep repeating to myself, “this too shall pass.”

Man, I wish it would pass “faster”!

This entry was posted in family.

Leave a comment