I’m going MAD!

Oh, that’s just a hillarious title!

Of course, you may not think so, until you know that the boys and I are joining a co-op which calls itself, “MAD”.

(An acronym for Music, Art, and Drama.)

Well, this year it is adding a state study into the mix, and I’m the assistant for that class.  And, mind you, we have only lived in this state for 3 years and 8 months, so I’m highly qualified.

**ahem**

Anyhoo, the teacher of the class is my good friend and pal, Nicole, and she’s a state “native”.  (Meaning she has lived here her entire life.)  Anyway, she’s going to tackle the teaching and I get to do the . . .

hmm, I wonder what you’d call it. . .

ah, “graphic” work.  (Looking up things on the computer, coming up with flap-books, worksheets, etc.)

So, she mentions to me,

“Wouldn’t it be great to have a blank outline map that you can put transparencies over of various different types of maps?”

Well, yes-indeedy, it certainly would.

You know, there are many different types of maps:  political, road, topographic, physical, economic, etc.

And do you know that those maps, for our state, are nearly impossible to find?!!!

I mean, not the road map, or the blank outline / political.  No, you can find those without even looking.  But heaven help you if you are looking for a climate map!!!

Our great state has at least 7 different state websites, and darned if you’ll find anything helpful regarding maps at any of them!

By the way, if you are looking for, say, a population map for your state, let me save you some grief and just point you directly to the US Census Bureau.  Because if your state is anything like mine, when you plug in the search string you will only find information for the counties — not the entire state.

I have FINALLY found all the maps I will need to pull this together.  (They were eventually found at our state university web site.)  We won’t discuss the amount of hours it took to find them. . .nor the amount of time it will take to make them “workable”.

Oh, but thank goodness I am not TEACHING the class!

********************************

Jay took Drew today for his written driver’s exam this morning.  I’ll let you know how that turns out.

 

One comment on “I’m going MAD!

  1. Nicole says:

    I knew this had to be about the co-op!

Leave a Reply

