This school year

This school year is not going so hot for me.  I don’t know what it is, but I can’t seem to find my rhythm.  My days seem sporadic, topics covered more hit-or-miss-ish, perfect examples of ADD. . .

We have managed a great many field trips, which last year we didn’t seem to get in but one or two.

It has caused me to do a great deal of re-thinking and re-organizing.  I just don’t know . . .

Geez, it’s almost November!

I did have an absolutely brilliant thought though.  (At least I thought so.)

I’ve been struggling coming up with something for science and health to do this year for Garrett and Mikhail.

Well, then it dawned on me.

We are going to do a study of a year on a farm.  In fact, we are creating an imaginary farm, and we are going to do this, to some extent, with friends.

We will cover science (plant growth, animal studies, insects, weather, etc.), and health will be covered with nutrition and whatever else we decide to throw in there.  (“Health” is such a vague topic.)

Oh, but the fun thing is that we are going to throw in a lot of extra activities, things like making butter or cheese, dipping candles, spinning wool, making bird-houses, and whatever else we can come up with.

Well, that’s the plan anyway.

OH! and the day is escaping me yet again!!!

One comment on “This school year

  1. se7en says:

    Hehe I finally feel like I am getting a handle on our school year – we are in week 28 of 36!!! So it is probably time I got into the groove!!! Have a good day!!!

Leave a Reply

