Going Turtle

Just so you know my foot is in some serious pain.

My little toe is completely on it’s side (this is actually “normal” for my toes, being born that way).  However, this has resulted in my toenail on that particular toe to be very thick, on the part that hits the ground.  The rest of the toenail is “normal”.

Well, the thick part has only been getting thicker, and has started catching on things.

Yesterday it got caught on my sock. . .and then last night it got caught on the sheets and RIPPED all the way down to the root.  (We are talking when I was otherwise sound asleep. . .not a pleasant way to wake up, I can tell you!)

Now it hurts to walk.

******************************

I have mentioned my “full plate” more than a couple of times.

And, due to it, I’ve decided to “go turtle”.

This is a phrase some mothers and I came up with whilst we were “in” the military.  It generally happened in conjunction with deployments.  This is a period of time where the Mom would withdraw and take care of home and family, and have her protective shell closed to the outside world for awhile.

That, we called, “going turtle”.

Given my full plate, (and my surprising inability to say, “No, I can’t do that too!“), I have decided to “go turtle”.

So, I wanted to wish everyone the very merriest of Holidays, as I most likely won’t be back on here until the New Year.

I hope the rest of 2009 is productive, healthy and happy for you and yours.

This entry was posted in family.

2 comments on “Going Turtle

  1. se7en says:

    Well while you are in the turtle state… I will be thinking of you and if you lived round the corner I would drop off some fresh lettuce leaves daily, to save you the effort of scrounging! Lots of love and happy holidays right back.

  2. Sunshine says:

    Have fun going turtle. Thanks to some craziness, I had to “go private” with my blog. 😦

    But the cool part of you going turtle, it gives me the chance to try to catch up on all I’ve missed! 🙂 Hugs and love to you girl! 🙂 Happy Holidays to you & the family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

