Day 34 — June 24

Do you know how some bad days just get worse?

This morning I awoke with a desperate need to do laundry.  For I had forgotten that I had to wash bandannas for today’s craft (painting said bandannas).  Paint sticks better to pre-washed fabric.

So, I ran the wash.  Got two VERY SLEEPY  (AKA VERY CRANKY) boys out of bed and moving and managed to get myself ready and the bandannas dried by the time I was supposed to leave.

Oh, and I managed to drive to VBS the right way.  (Yesterday, I wasn’t thinking straight and drove some wonky way that caused me to have to “correct”.)

Overall VBS went well.  It was a complicated craft simply due to the nature of the materials (PERMANENT paint), and the “artists” themselves (bouncy kids).

Oh, and we had a dentist appointment for the whole family starting at 11.  VBS doesn’t let out till 12.  So, I had to pull the kids and leave VBS by 1120 in order to get to the dentist by 1150.  (Hubby and the older two took the first 3 slots.)  We managed to walk in right at 1150.

Drew has a cavity!  The first time ever, and he’s 18 years old!  BLECH!  And this is when things started to get bad.

The temps hit 100 today.  Hot and miserable.  We had all the windows open and fans going and it was not cutting it.

Because we had a pot-luck scheduled for tonight.  I’ve been agonizing for over a week about what to make for this thing.  I couldn’t come up with anything, so Jay determined to make brats and sauerkraut in the crock-pot.

Except, I can’t eat brats. . .and a lot of people don’t like brats or sauerkraut.

All this to say, I now have a ton of leftover brats and sauerkraut.  Oh, and by the way, my kiddoes that do like grilled brats, on a bun, with sauerkraut on top. . .do NOT like brats cooked with sauerkraut in a crock pot.

But, when we got there I noticed that Garrett was dozing on the chair.  He had dehydrated and was running a temp.  So, I grabbed him and Mikhail and ran them home and got them to bed.

After getting them to bed and settled in, I went downstairs to relax, only to hear a meow.  If you’ve ever had more than one cat, you can attest to the fact that you can usually identify a cat by its meow, and I was quite certain that this was Razzle.

Except, for the life of me, I can’t find Razzle, ANYWHERE in the house.  Given that she’s a house cat (never been out doors and is declawed), this presents a bit of a problem.  Add to that and the fact that she is technically Mikhail’s cat. . .

The big kids are out currently scouring the neighborhood for her.

*sigh*

Subject * Notes
English    
Math    
Science    
Social Studies+  *  Bible
The “Arts”  *  painted bandannas
PE  *  water fights, swimming
Socialization    
Life Skills  *  staying hydrated
“Other”    

Leave a Reply

