Day 67 — July 27

We went shopping this a.m.  That’s always discouraging as it takes up so much time.

I have to tell you, I don’t get sales papers.  (Those inserts in the newspaper — which we also don’t get.)  And, I also have to ‘fess that I absolutely LOVE not getting those sales papers.  I hear my friends talking about this sale or that sale going on hither, thither and yon, and they wear themselves out shopping.

I have a list, plain and simple.  And when that list becomes urgent then I go shopping.  (This is obviously NOT true for groceries, which in this household are always considered “urgent”, but I still only do that once a week.)

I consider myself highly successful when my list entails a good deal of shopping in a similar area.

Now, I know that I spend more on products because I am not shopping the sales.  Although, something is always on sale when I’m shopping.  However, and this is the kicker, shopping only 4 times a year. . .not unheard of for me.

And all these other moms?  E-V-E-R-Y WEEK!  I would go insane!

I wonder who saves more?

The thing is though, that I’m inadvertently raising boys that despise shopping.  They see it as an utter waste of time and money.

*sigh* 

Their poor future wives.

Anyway, that ate up the morning.  The pool was on tap for the afternoon, where all the kids had a grand time playing this game:

And, where I had to go again into the proper etiquette for good game play.  I have a little man who finds this concept very difficult.  I also found that some of the teens needed a gentle reminder too.

(Note: I don’t know what the non-travel version is like, as we don’t own it, but the travel version is fantastic to take with you.)

Then there was some pool time, but strangely a lot of time was spent playing soccer.

We came home and I completely decided not to do dinner (which means we had simple fare of sandwiches).  Jay then took the boys out bike riding.  (He sat in a chair while they rode around a parking lot.)

At some point before the pool the little guys read to Tyler.

Tyler is studying for the driver’s written exam.  He’s to take it this Thursday.

Subject * Notes
English  *  reading
Math    
Science    
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE  *  swimming, soccer, biking
Socialization    
Life Skills  *  being a good sport, driving
“Other”    

One comment on “Day 67 — July 27

  1. se7en says:

    Hay you!!! I am so with you about shopping… Why is it seen as a leisure activity? Why do people spend their weekends at the mall? I just can’t get it myself!!! I am not a shopper by nature and indeed have a list… when it gets desperate I deal with it!!! And as for the eternal quest for food: a monthly shop and that’s it… I think getting a number of children in and out of their car seats pretty much “pales the event” before I have even started!!!

Leave a Reply

