Day 70 — July 30

I’m getting myself sidetracked and I haven’t even started typing this post!

We pulled out the school books again today.  (Actually, they are always out, but I put them up for company the other night.)

Managed to get a fair amount of school work done.  Albeit with oodles of complaints.  I’m almost to the point that I will start stacking on the work for each and every complaint I hear.  I have found this a highly effective technique for ending complaints, and it sinks in little noggins that I like complaints about as much as they like extra worksheets.

Anyway, we also did a science thing.  Do you recall the crystal formation experiments that we did at our friend’s house?  Well, we had waited the appropriate amount of time, and we were able to see the results.

Sadly, I don’t have the information on the different crystal formations.  I can only tell them apart by color.  I am highly impressed by the purple ones though!  Can’t say I’ve seen too many triangular crystals in my life.

The red crystals are more simple, flat, random polygons.

The green ones produced tiny, delicate rods (highly magnified photo).

The white reminded us, vaguely, of Superman’s fortress in Superman Returns.  By “us” I mean the other mom and I as the kids don’t have a clue.

Jay and I went on a date yesterday.  Which morphed, as they are wont to do, into an errand run.  We are having the darndest time finding good ole fashioned foldable lawn chairs.  (You know the ones you can sit in, rather than have to fall into.)

Then, I went to pick up the kids from the pool. (They were with a friend.)  Drew went with me to play basketball for a bit.  Except, that trip didn’t turn out well for Drew as he landed on his foot wrong.  We think it is just a sprain. . .I guess tomorrow will tell.

Tyler spent the day hiking with friends.  It was a beautiful day for it, as the weather never topped 90 degrees.

All-in-all a good day.

Subject * Notes
English  *  reading, phonics
Math  *  two lessons
Science  *  crystals
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE  *  swimming, basketball, hiking
Socialization    
Life Skills    
“Other”    

Leave a Reply

