Day 75 — Aug. 4

Okay, for the record, having 3 consecutive non-productive days. . .NOT good.

My friend came to visit as planned, but the visit went quite a bit over the expected allotment.  And that’s great.  I really enjoy spending time with friends.  It just came on the heels of two unproductive days to add yet another to the tally.

Mikhail is having some serious issues.  He has reverted to that stage of I-don’t-have-to-listen-to-what-Mommy-says.  He has spent a great deal of time in time-out as well as a seemingly continuous grounding, just for his attitude.

Obviously, I’ve gotten too slack.

I need to come up with a more effective consequence for him.

Realized yesterday, that I (yet again) inadvertently sent an email meant for a friend to my aunt.  Given that my aunt lives a couple of states away, I’m quite certain she will not be joining us for our pot-luck tonight.  (But, she is more than welcome too.)

Oh, but when my friend was over yesterday we were talking about our plans for the coming school year and I had just laid out my plan for the year when she asks,

“So, what are you doing for health?”

*Blink*  *blink*

Arrrgh!  I hate health!  But our state requires it every year for the first 8.  It is insane. 

For one reason, “health” could easily be rolled into science (and in many cases is).  Or into PE (and in many cases is).  So, why “health”???

Because the state says so.  And the fact that my family discusses nutrition on a nearly daily basis, the fact that I compel them to exercise daily, the fact that we cover hygiene daily, and discuss germs, and first aid. . .

Well, the state could care less, because they want to SEE the subject “health”.

BLAH!

Did you know that the humidity was so high here it set off the smoke detector in the morning?

Oooh, oooh, fire safety!  What subject would that go under I wonder?

Played cards with the older boys till midnight last night.  It was tight, but Jay and I won.  Still trying to teach the boys strategy for this game (spades).  They can’t seem to get a defense for “nil”.  Or they continually forget.

Anyway, that was our day.

Subject * Notes
English    
Math    
Science    
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE  *  soccer
Socialization    
Life Skills    
“Other”    

One comment on “Day 75 — Aug. 4

  1. Stephen L. says:

    Hahaha a Fire Drill could go under PE, as I’m sure your children did a small amount of running 😉

Leave a Reply

