Day 102 — Aug. 31

Whew!

Okay, so today was our homeschool group’s “back-to-school” party.  I was going to miss it, conveniently, due to eye appointments for the kids.

I am by nature extremely shy and these kind of get-togethers throw me into absolute tizzies.

However, due to the imminent arrival of my brother, the eye appointments had to be rescheduled so I could do a grocery shop.  And the grocery shopping had to occur in such a fashion as to have me back home by 1230.

Because Tyler had a job interview to go to and I was his ride.

Therefore, it should come as a surprise to no-one that I got stuck in traffic on the way to the store, stuck in a line to get gas, and then stuck in line at the commissary to pay for the food.

It’s a 45 minute from there to here and I got out of there at 12!

So, I call home.

“Drew, could you please, please, please drive your brother to his interview?”

“Sure, Mom, give me directions.”

Thus directions are duly given, and we hang up and I’m thinking, “not so bad. . .”

Except then the phone rings again.

“Uhhh, Mom?”

“Yes, honey?”

“Dad took my car to school today.”

“WHAT???!”

So it was that I had Tyler call to try to delay his interview and they completely rescheduled it for later this afternoon.  (Which was incredibly great of them.)

And you know what?

That typical 45 minute drive?  Only took me 35.  And I could have actually gotten him to his original interview on time.

However, it all worked out.  Tyler is now employed!

Lord, help us all!

He starts tomorrow. . .You know, assuming I can get his work permit and his uniform and everything else in the a.m.

Oh, and did I mention we have company coming???  They’ll be here tomorrow.

The rest of the kids did great today too.  They completely cleaned the house for me.  I mean I did a lot, but they certainly did their share.

Then, my friend offered to take the kids to the pool again this evening, so they had their time in the pool while I was at home cleaning and helping Tyler fill out all his employment forms.

So, now it is the waiting for our company to arrive.

Subject * Notes
English    
Math    
Science    
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE  *  swimming
Socialization    
Life Skills  *  house cleaning, job interview, employment paperwork
“Other”    

Leave a Reply

