Day 154 — Oct. 22

Man, I woke up and felt like I was on a roll!

And then we hit issues. . . .

Little guys were grumbling and just pains, and when Tyler sat down to do his Spanish, his program completely froze.

THAT took me 1.5 hours to fix.  I was not at all happy about that!

As it was nearing lunch time I decided to take stock of the apple situation.  And then, in a desperate act to turn things around I called the kids down to make “apple cake”.

Now, the kitchen in my house is so small that I rarely call the little guys to come help, so they came down in a hurry (and we worked in the dining room).

I let them essentially make it all.  It was kind of nice as it was all in whole, half or quarter measurements (and the kids have been learning about that in math for the past two weeks).

Totally not planned, just a nice little coinky-dink.

So, the boys got busy, and made us a lovely concoction:

And then, I looked upon ALL the apples I have in my house and got myself busy.

So, for dinner last night we had baked pork chops with apples (YUM!), acorn squash with apple stuffing (still don’t like acorn squash, but the apple stuffing was YUM), and for dessert a quickie apple sweet.

The dessert was so quick and easy that I will go through the trouble of presenting it here (even though that would take more time than just doing it).

*******************************************

Quickie Apple Sweet

You will need:  an apple (or more), cinnamon sugar, microwave, microwave safe bowl,

one of these gizmos:

knife (possibly)

So, first you take and core and slice your apple (see gizmo above).  If you choose, you can take a knife and peel off the skin.  Place in microwave safe bowl.  Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar (to taste).

Zap in microwave.  (Time will vary dependent upon machine and personal “crisp” preference of muncher.  We did 3 apples in one bowl for 6 minutes.)

Sorry, not a very good picture, but it gives you an idea.

YUM!  (You can also add pomegranate seeds, or cranberries for a nicer presentation.)

*****************************************

We picked 4 different varieties of apples the other day and, if you are like me, you may wonder which is best for what.

Well, the farmer’s wife gave us this nice little sheet:

I have two bags of apples good for baking, and one bag of Empires (good for sauce or just plain eating).

I foresee myself doing a lot a baking in the near future.

But, Jay requested I not do anymore entire apple dinners.  (And for those of you who know him well, you will be as shocked as I was when he said, “It was just too much ‘sweet’.”)

Oh, and as an aside, I only used 5 picked apples!  (I had bought some at the store that I had to use first. . .)

Subject * Notes
English    
Math  *  reading charts
Science    
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE  *  game of “space ball” with others
Socialization  *  outside play with friends (this is separate from PE)
Life Skills  *  baking
“Other”    

Leave a Reply

