Days 244-247 — Jan 21-24

 Maybe I should just start doing a weekly thing.  I’m getting so bad at this.

But, it really couldn’t be helped this weekend.

I mean, it all started with Mikhail’s birthday on Friday.

As a rule we do not do school on birthdays.  I am sure there is much learning going on during these days, but nothing that I would mark down. . .

Except for the fact that Mikhail volunteered to vacuum the floors on Friday.  In fact, he demanded to have the opportunity.

Obviously, the shock is still sitting with me. . .

On Saturday, well, I call that a teacher work day.

I spent the entire day at a seminar done by Susie Kemmerer who wrote this book:

Homeschool Supermom...NOT!

Essentially the seminar was about bringing grace into our homeschool.

I attended this with 4 other women from our homeschool co-op (5, actually, but the 5th was there with family members so we didn’t really get to spend much time with her).  It was inspiring even though there plenty of times where I was simply thinking, “OUCH!”

PS.  I walked away from there with the book combo set (which is the supermom book with a devotional that goes along side).  I’m sharing with some of the other moms.

I don’t have a clue what the boys did that day except that they spent the entire day with their Dad.  And that, in and of itself, is worthwhile (for all of us).

On Sunday we did our usual church thing.  Then, in the afternoon the younger guys were completely willing to go through their toys and start bagging stuff up to get rid of!

Did I mention COMPLETELY WILLING???

3 – 20 gallon bags of toys left their room to either be chucked or given to others.

WAHOO!

Monday was co-op day.

For my MADness class we covered this book:

which is fantastic when used in conjunction with this website:  Musical Instruments.

(I’m putting this here more for my own “memory” than anything else.)

However, during class one of my co-teachers mentioned that she thought she had a video that would go wonderfully with this, so after co-op she gave me the video and she was right!

The video is a reading of this book:

Additionally, as the book is read it plays different pieces that incorporate (accent) each musical instrument discussed.

The little guys watched the whole show with me and liked it “okay”.  (Though they strongly suspected it counted as school work. . .)

The boys did choir, physics, and art.  Tyler did his geography and Truth Project.

The little guys also did spelling.

Subject * Notes
English  *  spelling
Math    
Science  *  physics
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”  *  art  / choir
PE    
Socialization  *  spending time with friends
Life Skills  *  cleaning
“Other”    

One comment on “Days 244-247 — Jan 21-24

  1. se7en says:

    Happy Birthday Mikhail…Hope you have an awesome year full of fun!!! We also NEVER do school on a birthday EVER… I just can’t face it!!!

Leave a Reply

