Day 255-256 — Feb. 1-2

The last two days have exemplified exactly what I’ve been talking about!

Except, I actually haven’t been talking about anything. . . because, let’s get real, this is a blog.  And a blog is like a snapshot.  Maybe not a work of art, like a professional photographer would give you, but still rather neat and tidy, and only “real” for the mere minutes it takes to construct.

But, I mentioned how “transparency” was tugging at my heart.  And, my friends, it is about to get incredibly transparent ’round here!  (Slowly, but, hopefully, steadily.)

So, this has been eating at me, and I’ve been watching my children’s behavior and examining their quality of work and work ethic.

I had to bite, chew and swallow, a nasty bullet!  For I am one who is forever prone to say, “YOU set the example.”

Then, I realized that I was not following my own adage.  Worse, my kids were following my example!  And, we all know who the blame lands on for that one, don’t we???

Blech!

So, a basic training of sorts is being implemented in our home starting tomorrow.  The little boys are already trying to beg, plead and barter their way out of it, and they don’t even really know what they are in for.  Tyler has been through this a few times (it always seems to need to occur every few years), and he is NOT looking happy.  But, I like to think of it as a sign of his majority that he seems to recognize that this needs to happen and that he’s keeping his comments to himself.

Let me tell you, people love to compliment me on how organized I am.  They think I am some fantastic person for the mere fact that I can write things done on a piece of paper in a manner that is clear, concise, and makes sense.

What so many fail to realize is that making a plan; that’s the easy part.  Following through with said plan PAINS me.  And plans that are so painstakingly written down in the neatest way possible, if they aren’t followed, are a waste of time.

So, basic training, here we come. 

Please let us survive the first hour!

Subject * Notes
English  *  reading / phonics / writing
Math    
Science    
Social Studies+    
The “Arts”    
PE    
Socialization    
Life Skills    
“Other”    

One comment on “Day 255-256 — Feb. 1-2

  1. Mom says:

    Love how you recognize a problem and then tackle it–no matter the difficulty! I’m also working on that, but not doing such a good job

Leave a Reply

