It’s hot

It’s hot and I just spent 2 hours of my life in a “capping and pinning” ceremony.

That’s a nurse’s graduation.

A cap that she will probably never wear again, and a pin that will most likely wind up in everyone’s sock drawer.

It made me appreciate military ceremonies all the more.  (Not that they don’t also give you useless junk, but they are quite a bit speedier about it.)

Yes, it seems I lack the “sentimental” gene, but I’m totally okay with that.  (I believe there is a direct correlation between “sentimental” and “pack rat”.)

And it reached 98 today. . .and we were in the gym that does not have A/C.

It meant a lot to Jay though, so there we were.  I think he got a bit irked, as they served refreshments afterward. . .in a big gym. . .with a large number of people.  Needless to say, we didn’t find each other till most people had cleared out.  He had it in his head that I was avoiding. . .

I had it in my head to keep our kids from climbing all over the chairs and behaving like hooligans after sitting so quietly and still for so long and to keep my Grandmother standing (as opposed to her tottering amongst the massive throng).

Jay was given two awards tonight.  One of them for being the top student.  (He’s always received the top “student” award since I’ve known the man.  I keep telling him he should let someone else get it every once in a while. . .It’s just not in him.)  The other one, I don’t even recall. . .it was only given to 10% of the class though.

Geez, I really recreate memories for you on here, don’t I?!

For the record, I think I was the only person in the history of the military to continually tell my chain of command NOT to put me in for awards.  I had huge arguments with people over it.  They couldn’t fathom such a thing, and I couldn’t stand ceremonies (and I also knew I wasn’t making a career of the military).

The weatherman has been calling for rain for a while now.  I hope he’s right tonight, because the weather is getting so oppressive.

Maybe I could tell him that I’ll put him up for an award if he makes it happen.  I’m sure I could even scrounge up a lightning bolt pin, or some such, that he could add to his sock drawer.

This entry was posted in family.

3 comments on “It’s hot

  1. 5wolfcubs says:

    Congrats to your dh!
    Yes…I came to peek at your schedules. 🙂
    Lee

  2. D says:

    Congrats to Jay! WTG!

  3. se7en says:

    Oh well done for making it through!!! The awards and the course!!! Wish I could send you some of our freezing stormy rainy weather…

Leave a Reply

