Days 12 and 13 — kitchen remodel

Okay, really, I suppose I should be preparing for Irene.  As of early this a.m. she was directly south of us.

Yet, as of now, it’s simply overcast, humid and breezy.  (It would be killer humid if not for the “breezy”, so I’m grateful for that!)

I kind of don’t know what else to do, except maybe laundry and go to the store.

Going to the store would probably be wise.  I’ve been steadily getting rid of all my canned stock goods since before the remodel.  (They take up and immense amount of space, unlike frig / freezer items that are limited to their container.)

*sigh*

Anyway, I thought I should post pictures, and somehow I got two days behind.

Day 12:

Now that the absolute worst of the demo is done, the “dust-wall” that divided our dining room / kitchen area came down.  Which just makes for a really cool picture in my opinion!

‘Course, dust will still be produced, and work still needs to happen, and we still need to live and eat without the aforementioned creating a hassle, so another wall was erected.

My “cook-in-dining-room” has shrunk!  But, they needed access to the wall between the two rooms.

So far, everything is happening the way it is supposed to.  I mean, aside from the demo creating issues.

We haven’t changed our plans significantly, or added on any additional jobs.

We were able to remain flexible, so that the few things that did need to be changed were changed without the gnashing of teeth that could occur in such cases.  And, we are either very easy to work with, or Mr. D is very good at being amiable to everything, because I haven’t seen any signs of him being frustrated with us.

Probably the latter. . .

Overall, we are quite happy.

End of work day 12:  Framing is almost complete

and electrical boxes (outlets, switches, etc.) have been installed

End of work day 13:  wiring has been added

And now I’m going to go have a think about what to do regarding this whole hurricane business.

Do you know, I’m not sure I have enough chocolate!

2 comments on “Days 12 and 13 — kitchen remodel

  1. I didn’t realize you were documenting the remodel in depth. Love!! I may even write a post around it. And don’t be afraid to use his full name and link to my site. I talk about his work at our table. Looking good!! Can’t wait to see final reveal!
    -Kristin

  2. corefoundations says:

    Yes, well when you have far-flung family, you blog just about everything! (Otherwise you would spend all your time on the phone, and people would still not be able to visualize what on earth you are talking about!)

Leave a Reply

