Random Bits

I know, I know.  I’ve been AWOL.  Don’t know what to say about that. . .

I have like 101 ideas of blog posts to write, but just can’t seem to get my act together.

But, let me first answer the “big” question.

No, my kitchen is not done.

Hubby and I have to put the back splash up and then have to do the final coat of paint.  Maybe this week?

We are also still waiting to complete the bathroom.  It’s getting there, but it’s not done either.

I think there are also a couple of other things that still remain to be done, but to be perfectly honest I have my head in the sand regarding those.

**********************

We are having problems at co-op with our older students not turning in homework.

By “we” I certainly mean myself and my co-teacher in economics, but also a number of the other high school level class teachers have talked with us about similar problems.

I have one student who, for the past two weeks, has come to class unprepared and has failed to turn in two (graded) assignments.

This puts me in a quandary.  Is something going on in that student’s home that I should be made aware of?  (I would think the parent would talk to me if that was the case.)  Is something going on with the student?  (feeling overwhelmed perhaps?)  Is the student simply lacking motivation to get their work done?

Then, the issue arises on how to deal with the problem.  And that one is “sticky”.

You see,  I truly believe the parent would want to be informed.  I also truly believe the parent would become involved and the situation would resolve itself. . .

Except, I also truly believe that the student is not performing due to lack of self-motivation.

Now, I could tell mom, and mom could step in and “correct” problem. . .

Yet, that wouldn’t really correct THE problem, now would it?  It would certainly get the work done, and the child’s grade would improve.  But the child would not be learning self-discipline / self-motivation, etc.  And the reality is, the child needs to learn those skills.  Regardless of what career path this child (or any other) chooses, they need to learn the skills related to accountability.  They need to learn to control themselves to get tasks done.

So, I contacted the child, and asked them if something was going on that I need to be aware of.  The response was along the lines of “I’m so sorry, Mrs. Christine.   I’ll do better.”  Which makes me feel that my original assessment of the problem, lack of motivation, was spot on.

I hope that simply because the student now knows that I’m keeping an eye out for improvement that they will step up to the plate, and I truly hope they learn the life-skills involved with completing tasks as required regardless of enjoyment levels.  Otherwise, I will have to follow through with the “threat” I slipped in my email of contacting the child’s parents, and hope the child learns this lesson another time in their high-school career.

What would you do?

Leave a Reply

