Who I Am Not

I was reading some article or the other a little bit ago.  I can’t recall its name, where I found it or even who wrote it.  The one thing that stuck out to me, however, was that the author said something along the lines of not defining yourself by who you aren’t.

You have to understand that this struck me, because at that very point in time I was reading the last book Inheritance (Inheritance Cycle, Book 4) wherein the main character was trying to discover his “true” name.  Additionally, I was thinking I should probably update my “About Me” page; so, you must understand that these things were on my mind.

But, I was struck by the thought of not defining yourself by what you aren’t.  Why not?  I mean, it works exceedingly well on mulitple choice tests.  (It’s not A, or D, and B looks iffy. . .)

I brought this up in discussion with my family and they determined that one should simply do so for whatever positive “mo-jo” one would receive from “positively” identifying what they are.

Uh-huh.

That’s like saying I’m “doggedly determined” or “perpetually persistent”, when in reality I’m truly a “stubborn mule”.  I don’t care how you dress it up; the result is pretty much the same.

This fits terribly nicely into the number 1 thing I’m not.

1.  I am not a fancy person.  I’m not big on gift wrap or ribbons (really don’t like cards).  I put our food on the table in the pots it was cooked in (because, the idea of doing one more dish just for looks???).  Frills, curls, lace and pearls. . .not here, not me.

2.  I’m not a social butterfly.  Not even close; unless you count me as the chrysalis.

3.  I’m not someone who beats around the bush.  I prefer to whack that sucker down and get straight to the matter.

4.  I’m actually not very good at determining who I am or who I am not.

Thus, the “About Me” page stays the same, and we all stay clueless as to who I truly am. . .

Makes it more interesting that way, don’t you think?

2 comments on “Who I Am Not

  1. We are all just trying to remember who we are on this planet of free will. The divine amnesia is the intended block. Ha..ha.. But the block is slowly being lifted. As such more are awakening. We live in interesting times. 🙂

    Have a great day!

  2. BD Vogue says:

    Interesting thoughts. I have tried so many times in my life to be the person I feel I was meant to be and keep coming around to the knowledge that I don’t have to try because I am exactly who I was meant to be and with that knowledge I found out who I am not as well!

Leave a Reply

