And you think it isn’t important

My husband came home the other day complaining of a difficult patient.

My first question to this statement is, “Are they difficult; or is it their condition?”

In this particular instance, it was the patient.  He was very “needy”.  Whenever my husband would go into the room the patient would launch into some description of something, or a perceived need, that would require Jay to listen for quite some time.  Luckily, Jay had a student aide yesterday, so was able to spend more time than he would otherwise have.  Not only that, but the patient kept asking to be taken from his room, and moved into more and more crowded locations.  (And, due to his medical conditions, this was actually difficult.)

“He’s an extrovert, hon.”

“What?  No, wait. . . Listen, there is just no call for him to be so needy and requiring so much of my time.”

“He’s an extrovert.  He’s not trying to be needy, but he’s feeling locked in “isolation”.  And if you can get him around other patients, he’ll require less of your time.”

“Humph.  Okay, I’ll try that tomorrow.”

*************************************

I teach a geography unit study at co-op.  We just started Heidi.  (Heidi was not supposed to be started for another couple of weeks, but my last book got nixed because one mother did not appreciate its content.  But that’s a story for another time. . .or not.)

Anyway, we started Heidi, and yesterday was our first class discussion on the book.

There were two things the kids immediately started in on, when I got to class.

“Why are all our books about girls?”  (Not true, out of the 6 books I chose, only 2 are about girls. . . one of those two got nixed.)  AND

“I LOVE the grandfather!  He’s nothing like what I’ve seen in the movie, (or read in a previous book).”

You see, I chose the unabridged version for our kids to read.  And in the unabridged version, you realize the poor grandfather has gotten a bad rap in all the abridged versions, and all the movies. . .for they make him out to be a nasty ole grump of a man.

Truly, the dear man is merely an introvert; kind of on the extreme side of introvertism, but still.

And as a rather solid introvert myself, I take exception to everyone thinking someone is “grumpy” just because they aren’t full of ceaseless chatter, or a desire to be around others 24/7.

Leave a Reply

