A Classic Redefined

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Okay, I find that statement fairly simple.  I don’t know exactly when it sunk in my thick skull.  My mother could tell horror stories, I’m sure.   I happen to recall that when my brother made me really mad I would run to wherever he may have happened to be and sucker punch him before high-tailing it away, all the while screaming to my Mom that my brother was going to punch me. . .

*ahem*

As I said, I’m sure my Mom could tell stories.

But, at some point, the mantra that my mother would espouse finally sunk in and I truly “got” it.

I am a failure as a mother.

For the life of me, I cannot get any of my children to understand this concept.

For a while I was tempted to completely lay the blame at my husband’s feet.  This would have been very easily accomplished, should I have chosen to do so, as he is reactionary. . .

But, the statement defies “reaction”.  It is not about doing unto others as they have done to you.  No!  In fact, the “other’s actions” are totally irrelevant in the statement.

So, I have spent a good deal of time trying to get my children to see that point of view.

Yet, no, each and every attempt results in failure.  They have to react.  A punch deserves a punch; a slight deserves one in kind.  Better yet?  A punch deserves a double whammy, and a slight a completely public insult.

*sigh*

Is this because they are male?

To be perfectly honest, I truly believe it is.  However, I refuse to let their gender cause the feelings of personal failure on my part!

So, from here on out, I am redefining “The Golden Rule” as follows:

“Do unto others as Jesus has done unto you.”

Go ahead guys; react to that one!

This entry was posted in family.

Leave a Reply

