New Year Blues

I just posted on Facebook that today, Dec. 31, 2013, I am already feeling behind for the year 2014.

Then, I got mad.  I mean really irritated with myself.  It’s one thing to feel overwhelmed at a new prospect in your life, but to feel behind before it ever starts?  That’s insane.

Course, if there is one thing I’ve learned in the past year is that insanity is a dear friend of mine.

So, I went for another cup of coffee and some perspective.  Whatever happened with “out with the old and in with the new”?  I used to feel that way about the New Year transition.  What happened that this year I see no distinction in the period?

I’m blaming it on school.  It’s totally school’s fault.  I mean think about it, “school” transverses the year boundary.  It starts in August, for heaven’s sake!  And then continues until June or July.

Course, if this logic were to pan out, one would wonder *why* after double digits of homeschooling this is just now affecting my New Year transitions?

So, maybe it isn’t school’s fault.

However, it dawned on me, that if it was truly school’s fault, I just got lucky!  Because right before Christmas we had pretty much stopped everything at specific end points.  End of chapter tests, end of periods in history, end of one reading book and the other ready for service, etc.  Therefore, mentally, I should be able to start the New Year fresh.  (Except for music.  Music, I had started the one idea, but have not run it to completion.  I could re-start it, as I think I’ve only done one lesson.  Kind of like that idea.)

But, what if it isn’t truly school?

Maybe it’s the fact that I still have unfinished projects in the house.

Well, that stinks, cuz all the projects I have that are ongoing are too time-consuming to fit into a day (a week, or even a month).

I do have a couple of projects that I haven’t even started yet, that I meant to be Christmas gifts. . .I think I will wait to start them tomorrow and then they can just become “because I love you” gifts.

I’m thinking, by now, it should be readily apparent just how “mental” I truly am.

I suspect, though, that it’s something “deeper”.  I will have to ponder this throughout the day (with copious quantities of coffee).

This entry was posted in family.

Leave a Reply

